Richard Pryor and Yaphet Kotto and Art Films

I was looking at the new schedule for the Havard Film Archive, and it turns out they’re doing a Paul Schrader retrospective. You know, the guy who wrote “Taxi Driver”. Well he also directed a bunch of films. Anyway, I’ve never seen his film “Blue Collar” but I’ve always wanted to. If just to see Richard Pryor in what was possibly his most, and really only, dramatic role. Unless you count The Toy. Reading the description of the film it somehow reminded me of a film that played Sundace this year, Ballast. I never saw that one either, but as luck would have it Ballast is playing at the Brattle this month as part of their Best of 2008 series.

Both movies seem to be observational films – low on plot, heavy on character and atmosphere – about working class life. Blue Collar in Detroit and Ballast in the rural South. While neither movie promises to be especially feel good, I’m looking forward to seeing them. Partly because I like slow movies where emotions and themes simmer for a long time, and partly because I’m attracted to environments that are 1)urban 2)run down or abandoned and 3)show me places I don’t often see in movies.

Also, I love Yaphet Kotto as Det. Alonso Mosley from Midnight Run.

Leave a comment